Books!

All that mankind has done, thought, gained or been: it is lying as in magic preservation in the pages of books.” ~ Thomas Carlyle

I get so excited about books in hardback, paperback, on tapes, on cds. I love ’em all!  There are not many genres in the “Books Genres” list that I don’t have a book to fit. I love to shop for books, I love to buy books, I love to read books. I love the smell, I love the feel, I love the texture, I love all the photos, I love all the pretty colors.  Love ’em.

Then I discovered e-books. At first they held no appeal for me. A quick download – to read on my computer. Well, that’s ok. Convenient. I didn’t think that I would ever go looking for digital books. But I must confess that I’m hooked!  How’d that happen?

It began with the Kindle for PC application that Amazon offers,  free. Free is good.  Actually, these days, free, for me is great! So I thought that I’d have a look. I discovered that there are over a million (yes, over 1,000,000) free (royalty free) books  that I could download to my PC via Kindle for PC.  “Free classics and out-of-copyright, pre-1923 books, as well as limited-time free promotional books available for Kindle”.  Did you know that there are 15 “Oz” books written by Frank L. Baum? I’m reading them for the first time.

In addition to the Kindle application, I’ve acquired an application by Sony and one for Adobe Digital Books. I’ve found so many interesting books or documents to download. Too many to list here, but, I thought that I’d blog about them and other versions as well.

Leave a Reply

